Educators & Parents
Share |
About Us

The Dot Diva / New Image for Computing (NIC) initiative is sponsored by WGBH, one of the oldest and most accomplished producers of public media, and the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), the world's oldest and largest educational and scientific computing society.

Dot Diva's mission is to create an exciting and positive image of computing for high school girls. Our nationwide survey revealed that not only do the majority of girls think of computing as "boring" and "hard," but they believe it fails to deliver two crucial benefits: "working with others" and "making a difference in other people's lives." Our ultimate goal is to transform this negative perception.

Read a summary of our research, New Image for Computing: Report on Market Research (PDF).



© 2010 WGBH Educational Foundation. All rights reserved. Dot Diva / New Image for Computing is produced by WGBH Educational Foundation, the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), and the National Center for Women & Information Technology (NCWIT).

Funding for Dot Diva / New Image for Computing (NIC) is provided by the National Science Foundation (Grant No. CNS-0753686). Additional funding provided by Google.
Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.

Dot Diva / New Image for Computing Project Team

Julie Benyo, WGBH, Principal Investigator
John White, ACM, Co-Principal Investigator
Jill Ross, University of Colorado, Secretariat
Anthony Chow, STARS Alliance, UNC, Project Team
Lillian Israel, ACM, Project Team
Shyno Chacko Pandeya, Outreach Project Director
Borgna Brunner, Editorial Project Director

Steering Committee

Jim Foley, Georgia Tech
Monica Martinez-Canales, Intel Corporation
Rick Rashid, Microsoft
Lucy Sanders, National Center for Women and Information Technology
Valerie Taylor, Texas A&M University

Board of Advisors

Mitch Baranowski, BBMG
danah boyd, Microsoft Research
Kelly Carnes, Techvision21
Andrew Chien, Intel
Jim Crowley, SIAM
Jan Cuny, NSF
Teresa Dahlberg, UNC Charlotte
James Delorey, Global Strategy Group
Peter Denning, Naval Postgraduate School
Marie DesJardins, AAAI
Gilda Garreton, Sun
Anne Quiroz Gates, University of TX, El Paso
Maria Klawe, Harvey Mudd College
Jane Margolis, UCLA
Barbara Poblete, Yahoo! Internship
Ann Redelfs, Redelfs LLC
Debra Richardson, University of CA, Irvine
Robert Schnabel, Indiana University
Steve Seidman, IEEE CS
Chris Stephenson, CSTA
Richard Tapia, Rice University
Steve Tolopka, Intel
Andries van Dam, Brown University
Bryant York, Portland State University
Ellie Young, USENIX